Book Reviews · Books

Book Review: The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami

"If all they did was lend out knowledge for free, what would be the payoff for them?"
“If all they did was lend out knowledge for free, what would be the payoff for them?”

Hello Everyone! Tonight’s book review is of “The Strange Library” by Haruki Murakami.

This is actually my first read from Mr. Murakami, and definitely won’t be my last. 🙂

The story tells of a young boy who is quite bookish like you and me, and makes frequent trips to the library to read and borrow books as well. But one particular day as he returns a lot of his borrowed books, he happened to got into some mishaps and ends up trapped in the library. He has two options on how to break free: 1) Complete the task assigned to him (which is to memorize three big books of taxation in the Ottoman Empire) or 2) Escape with dire consequences. In his adventure, he meets an strange old man, another one in sheep’s wool, and a strange mysterious girl who barely speaks.

This was a really quick read and it has gotten me out of my current reading slump (I’ve been reading Christmas-themed YA novels for the past few days, and I’ve gotten tired of it). I finished it in an hour more or less. It’s a gripping short story that had me wanting more books like these when I got to the end.

I also liked how the book was constructed and the artwork done by Chip Kidd accompanying some of the chapters. They were a myriad of types of art: Some were paintings, photographs, abstract sketches, traditional Chinese paintings, and there was even pop art. The artwork as well made this into a really fun book to read!

When the book opens, someone is looking and smiling at you.
When the book opens, someone is looking and smiling at you.

I give it a 4.5/5 because I was thirsty for more even after the end. 😀

This book is recommended for those with the love of libraries and books; to those who want a quick read but particular with quality of short stories; to get out of a reading slump (me -_-); and those who love adventures.

Have you guys read this book yet? What other Haruki Murakami books do you suggest?

Leave a Reply

