Book Reviews

Book Review: Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

image

I just watched Gone Girl two days ago.
Hands Down. I loved it!

I haven’t gotten to reading the book yet (decided internally with myself to watch the movie first before reading the book).

But I have finished reading Flynn’s other novel Sharp Objects and it was good…dare I say…probably better than Gone Girl (basing on the movie).

Sharp Objects tells the story of Camille Preaker, a reporter who goes back to her hometown to investigate a present and past murder, their relations to one another and who might the killer be. Coinciding with this case, Camille is  to face a sudden reunion with her family…who seem to be dysfunctional as she is.

The book started off a bit slow, but then quickly picks up it pace in the proceeding chapters, making it unable to put the book down until I reached the conclusion. I actually did tabbing on this book, where I tabbed parts that would possibly be clues to who might be the murderer. I actually had a big idea from the beginning, but I was not expecting the ending. Yes, Flynn is known for her epic plot twists.

I think people who are curious about psychiatry, mental health, and psychology would love this piece. It talks and discusses alot about common mental and psychiatric disorders, such as mutilation and somatoform disorders. Being in the medical field, I love how depictions of these cases were made in the book.

image

Also, I love a good mystery book. I enjoy using deductive thinking in figuring out how to solve the puzzle, as if I were the main character herself.

I loved Camille…other than the fact that we both share the same name, I love how her character is: Damaged. Even though she’s damaged, has alot of flaws and imperfections with regards to her decisions, I admire her for standing by her choices, and ultimately reflects on these decisions for the good of herself and others. I also enjoy how she knows to use communication in getting the answers. Getting into what the other person wants you to say. Smart and Witty of her.

I highly suggest this book to those interested in for a mystery, psychology/mental disorders, or whoever wants a gripping, intensely exciting read.

I give this book a 4/5 rate.

Leave a Reply

