Book Reviews · Books

Book Review Fridays: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Er. I KNOW IT’S A MONDAY! But I want to make Book Review Fridays a staple thing on my blog. So…please consider this a late entry. 😀

“God gives us the ugliness so we don’t take the beautiful things in life for granted.

Hey guys! So here’s my take of Colleen Hoover’s Ugly Love.

Synopsis:

Never ask about the past. Don’t expect a future.

These were the rules airline pilot Miles Archer, gave nurse Tate Collins upon the agreement of their arrangement of a relationship. No feelings, just enabling their mutual attraction to one another. He’s not into the troubles of love, and she’s too busy for love anyways. The set-up is perfect, as long as they stick to the rules. Can they handle it?

Hearts get infiltrated. Promises get broken. Rules get shattered. Love gets ugly.

Contrary to the title, I thought that kind of love story wasn’t ugly. A bit messy, but beautiful especially when I got to hear Miles’ side of the story and his past. Oh, Miles. Do you know how often it is in books that when there’s a conflict in the relationship, it’s common to feel sorry or side with the girl? In this book, I was by Miles’ side from the beginning. I think he’s the second fictional character that made me bellow out in tears from a book (Ah, the first one would be Severus Snape…always.). I loved getting to know about his past which made him who he was at the present with Tate. It’s not your typical “I was screwed up in my childhood so this is why I’m a badass” story, it’s actually something more real and hits you right in the feels kind. Tate, I love Tate but there are some points where I get frustrated with her (can’t blame her though, she can’t read the Miles’ POV chapters). But I like that she’s encompasses a spunky and strong personality, but can be very fragile when it comes to falling in love. The way she’s imperfect with dealing with her situations makes her perfect, in a sense. Overall I think the book is quite a good read, that I don’t even want a sequel for it! It’s perfect by itself and a sequel shouldn’t ruin that! If you’re into a really good love story that hits you right in the feels, I highly recommend this book. Oh, and this was my first read from Colleen Hoover. I have already added in my TBR list her other works. 🙂 Alright guys, what are your thoughts on Ugly Love? 🙂 I would love to hear about them! Leave them in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

