Book Reviews · Books

Book Review Fridays: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

 

“It was the nicest thing she could imagine. It made her want to have his babies and give him both of her kidneys.”

Hey Everyone! Welcome to Book Review Fridays!

Tonight, I’ll be recalling a book that marks a year since I’ve read it: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell.

IMG_9726_1

 

Synopsis: (Taken from goodreads)

Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

My thoughts:

Seriously…WHAT KIND OF ENDING WAS THAT?! I feel like my book is missing some pages.

This book….brings me back…way back, to highschool. I love Eleanor! She wasn’t your typical good-looking character who was insecure, she wasn’t the prettiest of the bunch, not exactly the ideal family as well, which was the root of her insecurities. She did overcome them in the end, but not just by herself, but with Park.

Ah, Park. I swoon over this little Asian guy who loves comics. I have to admit, he had an angsty vibe at the beginning, but after a few chapters I kept my fingers crossed I would meet a guy like him someday. Haha.

This little love story of two misfits was really cute. It reminded me so much of high school and how relationships were for young teens. Hopeless romantics, daring to go against all odds for love despite knowing we’re too young for the world.

I recommended this for my cousin who wanted a light read with all the feels. And if that’s your cup of tea for the weekend, then pick up a copy of this book!

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review Fridays: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

