Book Reviews · Books

Book Review Fridays: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Hey Everyone! Happy Friday the 13th! Did you guys know that one of the origin theories of how people come to perceive this day as unlucky came from the Catholic Bible?

It was said that Friday was the day that Adam and Eve ate the forbidden fruit on a Friday. Added 13 to be an unlucky number, Friday the 13th became to be. Haha

But hey, it’s Friday and I have to make a book review! This Friday’s Book Review is The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin.

Synopsis (taken from goodreads)

Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

Review:

I have to be honest here, when I initially read the first few chapters of the book, I was skeptical to finish it since it started off with Mara playing the Ouija board and I assumed too quickly it would be like one of those cheesy horror movies (which are a guilty pleasure for me, but not as books. haha).

There’s a mix of the supernatural and psychology concepts. Which was quite a good twist! I gave the book another go after three months of putting it off. My interest in the story piqued when we see that Mara is balancing on the fine thread between mentally disturbed (fancy way of saying “girl be cray cray”), or that the dark mystic force actually exists. To everyone who’s familiar with mental illnesses, you’ll encounter some medical terminologies, such as PTSD and Ativan.

The book will also leave you hanging on to that thread alongside Mara until the end.

Noah was your Typical YA Guy to fall in love with. I read this book when I was 18. Of course I oogled over him! He was this good-looking guy who was distant, chiseled to perfection, a genius, and all of that mysteriously damaged. Isn’t that the perfect concoction of evey guy a girl falls for? Yes. Looking back though, I wondered why I fancied him (I realized I like nerdy geeky guys. haha)

The past will always bubble up. No matter how much Mara tries to getaway from her past (even to the point of moving to another state), it’ll always come back to haunt you. Which is why sometimes the best solution would always be to have closure with yourself or someone.

And Sometimes, are worst enemy is our own mind. It’s true. The mind is quite mysterious on how it works. It can actually play tricks on you and you would never knew about it. This is what I’ve learned from reading the book. Our subconscious can blur the line between what’s real and what’s not.

Big Cliffhanger. Seriously, I was begging for the second book to come out quickly when i finished this. hahaha

Overall, I give this book a 4 out 5. I enjoyed reading it, and I would recommend it to anyone interested in reading something that’s dark, and a mix of the supernatural and psychology. But I do have to warn you guys that I would’ve preferred to have the complete trilogy ready if you’re easily upset with cliffhangers 🙂

Thank you for reading my thoughts on the book! Have you guys read the Unbecoming Mara Dyer? Tell me about it in the comments below 🙂

One thought on “Book Review Fridays: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Leave a Reply

