Books · Random Musings

Alunsina: A place to meet your new companion.

“Isn’t it mysterious to begin a new journal like this? I can run my fingers through the fresh clean pages but I cannot guess what the writing on them will be.” – Maud Hart Lovelace

IMG_9751_1

Back when I was little, I remember that I often would ask my parents and relatives to get me a journal, diary, or a notebook as a gift. I was fond of scribbling down anything from what I had for breakfast or the crisis of a decapitated barbie doll.

Growing up, my liking for journals tagged along as well. I would usually keep a spare budget in case I would come a cross a journal that I wanted (What can I do, I’m an impulsive buyer. Haha). My cousins also got me a few from their travels as well.

In total, I have about 10 journals all in all (I believe I have more, but I can’t recall where I stashed them anymore. Sigh) and half of that lot all came from Alunsina Handbound Books.

IMG_9755_1

The Alunsina Team comprises of Nadja, Enan, Ome, and Luey, accompanied often in their workshop by their dogs Douglas and Trotsky. They are an indie craft team who work day and night creating beautiful hand-bound leather journals.

Each journal is handcrafted beautifully, and I once stated they were like “happy shots” upon receiving them from my doorstep haha. It usually takes about a week or two upon placing an order, but believe me, it’s worth the wait every time. Always of high quality, painstakingly made sure with love before it gets to you. 🙂

Their designs often remind me of the journals frequently made in the early 1900s, and it makes me feel like traveling back to that era, where thoughts were written down and be read years later, instead of current social media, where you can immediately read what people are thinking about.

An Alunsina journal is a perfect companion for anyone. They come in different sizes, to whatever suits you personally. That’s another thing what’s great about their journals. Each journal is different and beautiful as it’s own, as if they have their own persona to them. I use one as a scrapbook, another was filled to the end with medical notes, and I recently bought their “Kislap” journal, which I am now frequently going to use as my travel companion (fret not, it is refillable! 🙂 ). I have not used the other two yet, because I’m worried of spoiling them (ah, the perfectionist inside of me T_T). They use quality paper from Italy, which can take on all kinds of blots from pens and paints. Oh, if you go check out their page they can even make you a WOODEN journal! How awesome is that?

So if you’re a journal hoarder lover like me, or just love writing in beautiful notebooks, I believe you’ll enjoy what Alunsina has to offer. I would actually love to collect every journal they make. Hahaha.

IMG_9757_1

If you’re interested in an Alunsina Journal, check out their page here or email them at alunsinahandboundbooks@gmail.com 🙂

2 thoughts on “Alunsina: A place to meet your new companion.

  1. Awesome entry. Totally getting one now. 😊 Im curious though, where you got your feathered pen on the last image? I wonder if thats just a nib holder? Thanks and much appreciated.

    Like

    1. Hey there AJ! 🙂 You’re Welcome! and thank you! I got the quill from Scribe Writing Essentials in Manila. I think you can order online from their site too. Mhm, It’s just a nib holder, and the nibs can be replaced when worn 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

