Book Reviews · Books

Book Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Hello Bibliophiles! How’s the month of April going for everyone? I hope it is filled with fun and discoveries, and of course more books!

IMG_9763_1

So today, I’m going to review The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard which by far, is one of my favorite Young Adult Novels to date.

Synopsis (taken from Goodreads):

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

I first saw the book in an article at Epic Reads as one of the most awaited Young Adult Novels of 2015. From the look of the cover, I initially thought that it was referring to the Red Queen by Lewis Caroll until I read the gist of what the book is about. I said to myself, “Oh, it’s another dystopian YA read.”

When the book was released, it gained so much hype around, and that got me thinking I should give it a try. Plus, the hardbound edition looks beautiful. I’m a sucker for beautiful looking books.

Another realm of Dystopia.

I’ve noticed that most YA novels have a dystopian theme to them. Some can pull it off, but others depict worlds as too chaotic, which isn’t really my usual cup of tea. Aveyard’s world Is magnificent, because I can relate it to our own world’s unnoticed chaos. The Higher Order rule the place while the poor work their asses off to keep the world spinning. Like what my friend says, there’s this Orwellian (George Orwell) touch to stories like these.

Your blood determines who you are. Initially.

This is a fun concept I liked in the book. Blood determines power. So if you’re Silver blooded, then you’re thanking the Gods that you get to live a life of splendor. Red-blood though, you struggle to stay alive until the very end. It reminds me of the community here where I live. Those who come from families of old money are the ones running the city, and those who have nothing to their name, well, they’re oftentimes working and struggling.

This belief or principle in the book shatters when Mare Barrow, a born Red-Blood, develops powers only that a Silver Blood can acquire.

Plot Twist and then suddenly a twist to that plot twist

Gah, you have no idea how many turns the plot took in this book! I would sometimes have pre empted guesses on what happens next. Sometimes they do happen, and sometimes they don’t but then poof! Another thing goes on and I was caught off guard. It’s a thrill for me and it kept me from putting the book down.

Everybody Lies

I was surprised that a character from a book could decieve me. Trust me guys, when you read this book. The one you’re rooting for sometimes isn’t the one you should be. I’m not pointing out which character, but you’ll feel that everyone or no one can Mare truly count on.

Magic with a Hint of Science

From mystical powers that ranges from Telekinesis, Super human Strength, and clairvoyance, there’s also the part where it debates that these powers could have been scientifically developed.

No matter how twisted things turn, never give up.

Mare as a character was always getting into trouble ever since. But despite all of the turmoils and tragedies she encountered, she always had this fighting spirit inside of her that never falters and keeps her going. Because despite of all the bad things that happened to her, she believes that there’s something good at the end.

Over-Hyped, but totally worth the read.

Everyone’s been talking about this book! That made me wonder if it’s has a similar plot with the previous Dystopian Themed books I’ve read. But really, I think the book is really worth the hype! The pace of the book didn’t want me to put it down.

IMG_9761_1

Overall, I highly suggest this book to those who love Dystopian themed stories, Magic, and those who wants to be inspired and motivated when they’re struggling right now šŸ™‚

Did you guys read the book yet? What did you think? Leave me your thoughts in the comments below šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

